January 7, 2011

2010 D3soccer.com Women's All-America team

BreLynn Nasypany
BreLynn Nasypany is the 2010 D3soccer.com Forward of the Year.
Photo by Katrina Styx, d3photography.com

The 2010 D3soccer.com All-America teams are our first, and were chosen by D3soccer.com staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of 215 nominations.

Marcus Wood of Hardin-Simmons was named D3soccer.com Coach of the Year for women’s soccer, after leading his team to an unbeaten, national championship season. The Cowgirls finished 24-0-1, winning the first Division III national championship for the school in any sport.

BreLynn Nasypany of William Smith is the D3soccer.com Forward of the Year for women’s soccer. The Liberty League offensive player of the year had nine game-winning goals among her 18 overall, including the game’s only goal in a 1-0 win against Williams in the national quarterfinals. Nasypany also had 13 assists in helping the Herons reach the national semifinals.

Messiah’s Amanda Naeher is the D3soccer.com Midfielder of the Year for women’s soccer. Naeher scored 32 goals and added 11 assists in leading the Falcons to the national title match, earning MAC Commonwealth Conference player of the year honors in the process.

Jenn Paulucci of Johns Hopkins earned D3soccer.com Defender of the Year honors, helping the Blue Jays record a team goals against average of 0.70 with 12 shutouts. Blue Jays opponents managed just 7.83 shots per game.

Otterbein’s Tara Carter is the D3soccer.com Goalkeeper of the Year after leading her team to the national semifinals. She was 20-0-4, with 20 shutouts and a goals against average of 0.16.

First team

Pos. Player Year School
F BreLynn Nasypany Sr. William Smith
F Amy Kuykendall Sr. Hardin-Simmons
F Jess Babice Sr. Rowan
M Amanda Naeher Sr. Messiah
M Sara Wild Sr. Williams
M Taylor Moesle So. Augustana
D Jenny Knox Sr. Otterbein
D Jenn Paulucci Sr. Johns Hopkins
D Lindsay Schmitt Sr. Skidmore
D Brittany Vacca Jr. Hardin-Simmons
GK Tara Carter Sr. Otterbein

Second team

Pos. Player Year School
F Jamie Orewiler Sr. Wheaton (Ill.)
F Corinne Wulf So. Messiah
F Jen Clemmer Sr. Denison
M Katie Kuykendall So. Hardin-Simmons
M Alex Brandt So. Messiah
M Sam Ciaravino Sr. Christopher Newport
D Sarah Nolet Sr. Tufts
D Leigh-Anne Borkowski Sr. Carleton
D Alessia Viscomi Sr. Wheaton (Mass.)
D Ali Ruddy Sr. William Paterson
GK Alli Novak Sr. Illinois Wesleyan

Third team

Pos. Player Year School
F Emily Hinchman So. Illinois Wesleyan
F Carly Prins Sr. Calvin
F Julia Caseres Jr. New Jersey City
F Abby Loar Jr. Trinity (Texas)
M Jordan Azar Sr. Trinity (Texas)
M Annie McCarthy Jr. College of New Jersey
M Mary Jean Cornelius Sr. UW-Stevens Point
D Katie Hoffsmith Sr. Messiah
D Sarah Stansell Sr. Hardin-Simmons
D Laura Karsten So. Wheaton (Ill.)
GK Rebecca Roth Sr. Hardin-Simmons
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.