December 21, 2011

2011 Men's All-America team

(l. to r.) Forward of the Year Travis Wall, Midfielder of the Year Sam DeMello, Defender of the Year Jake Urbaniak, and Goalkeeper of the Year Steve O'Meara. announces its 2011 All-America teams which were chosen by staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of over 600 nominations.  This is the second year in which has named All-American teams.

Travis Wall of Ohio Wesleyan is the Forward of the Year for men’s soccer following a season in which he earned North Coast Athletic Conference offensive player of the year honors and led the Battling Bishops to the national title. Wall finished with 19 goals and 14 assists, including five game-winning tallies.  He scored in four of five NCAA tournament games, including the opening goal in the final and the late game-winner in his team's dramatic 3-2 come-from-behind win over Ohio Northern in their sectional semifinal.

St. Lawrence's Sam DeMello is the Midfielder of the Year for men’s soccer. DeMello scored 14 goals and assisted on 10 more for the Saints who only lost one game all season. He scored six game-winning goals to carry the team offensively when injuries claimed a couple of the team's top forwards.  The Liberty League player of the yeartallied two goals and two assists in the NCAA tournament including a sudden-victory overtime goal in the second round and the team's lone goal in their sectional semifinal loss to Oneonta State.

Jake Urbaniak from Texas-Tyler earned Defender of the Year honors. The ASC’s defensive player of the year for the second straight year helped the Patriots limit opponents to just 3.7 shots on goal per game leading to a 0.76 goals against average and 12 shutouts.  Urbaniak also contributed to the attack with eight goals and five assists.  As captain, the senior led his team to the Elite 8, a program best, losing only in double-overtime  in their quarterfinal match with Calvin.

Luther's Steve O'Meara is the Goalkeeper of the Year after being credited with 12 individual shutouts and contributing to 15 total shutouts for the Norse.  His 0.913 save percentage was the nation's best and his 0.34 goals against average second best.  He was named the IIAC most valuable player after being instrumental in Luther claiming the regular season title by going undefeated in conference play.  He helped Luther reach the Sweet 16, allowing just one goal from the run of play in three tournament games, that coming in the closing minutes of a 4-1 second round victory over North Park.

The Coach of the Year is Jay Martin at Ohio Wesleyan.  Not only did Martin guide his Battling Bishops to a national championship but in winning the title game he broke the all-time record for career victories by a college men's soccer coach.  One of the nation's best offenses scoring 3.08 goals per game, his team won 23 games against just two losses to leave Martin with 608 career victories.  The 23 wins were the most in the nation and tied the program record set in 2000.  The national title is his and the program's second to go along with the 1998 championship.

Forward of the Year: Travis Wall (Sr.), Ohio Wesleyan
Midfielder of the Year: Sam DeMello (Jr.), St. Lawrence
Defender of the Year: Jake Urbaniak (Sr.), Texas-Tyler
Goalkeeper of the Year: Steve O'Meara (Sr.), Luther
Pos. Player Year School
F Travis Wall * Sr. Ohio Wesleyan
F Vinny Bell Sr. Case Western Reserve
F Brian Lybert * Sr. Christopher Newport
M Sam DeMello Jr. St. Lawrence
M Zach Adler Jr. Stevens
M Victor Almendariz Sr. Texas-Tyler
D Alex Laird Jr. St. Lawrence
D Jake Urbaniak * Sr. Texas-Tyler
D Corey Adams Sr. Johns Hopkins
D Justin Eglseder Sr. Gustavus Adolphus
GK Steve O'Meara Sr. Luther
Pos. Player Year School
F Mitch Grotti So. Rutgers-Camden
F Nate Bascom Jr. Ohio Northern
F Eros Olazabal Jr. Manhattanville
M Zach Garcia * Sr. Trinity (Texas)
M Dylan Stone Sr. Ohio Wesleyan
M Cory Dobkins Sr. Ohio Northern
D Sean Moriarty Jr. Christopher Newport
D Michael Olson Sr. Luther
D David Whitaker Sr. Hope
D Mark Lavery Sr. Oglethorpe
GK Brian Abernethy Sr. St. Lawrence
Pos. Player Year School
F Alexander Rouse Sr. Medaille
F Danny Thompson Sr. Messiah
F Spencer Noon Jr. Amherst
M Alex Oeswein Sr. Thomas More
M Jack Thompson Fr. Messiah
M Rory O'Neill Jr. Wesleyan
D Miles Colago * Sr. Calvin
D Kyle Boekeloo Sr. Dominican
D Will Chaney * Sr. UW-Oshkosh
D Matt Ratajczak Jr. Williams
GK Tim VanLiew Sr. Rutgers-Camden
* earned All-America status in 2010
Jay Martin, Ohio Wesleyan (23-2-0) - 2011 National Champion
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.