December 20, 2013

2013 Women's All-America team

(l. to r.) Forward of the Year Hannah Kronick, Midfielder of the Year Emily Jorgens, Defender of the Year Olivia Zitoli, and Goalkeeper of the Year Beth Coppolecchia.

The 2013 season is now a wrap, and with the completion of the NCAA tournament, the fourth annual All-America teams are ready for release. This year, the teams were chosen by staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of over 400 nominations.

After two years in Texas, the 2013 Forward of the Year moves Northeast to Baltimore as Johns Hopkins junior Hannah Kronick takes the title. The 2013 Centennial Conference Player of the Year, Kronick was Third Team All-America in 2012, and is third on the Blue Jays career goals leaderboard with 65. Her 29 assists puts her at second in the career assists recordbook. Earlier, Kronick was also named to the NSCAA Scholar All-America team.

Trinity University (Texas) junior Emily Jorgens is the Midfielder of the Year award winner. Jorgens was a Second Team All-America in 2012, and a Third Team All-America in 2011. The 2013 SCAC Conference Player of the Year led the Tigers with 18 goals and 30 assists, and is now third in all-time assists. Earlier, Jorgens was also named to the NSCAA Scholar All-America team, and also won the NCAA Elite 89 Award (highest grade point average at the NCAA Division III semifinals and final).

William Smith senior Olivia Zitoli has earned the Defender of the Year award. Zitoli was the 2013 Liberty League Player of the Year, and first team All-Liberty League conference honors. She also earned All-Tournament honors at the Liberty League Championship as well as the NCAA Championship. Zitoli was also named the Most Outstanding Defensive Player at the NCAA Championship and was named the Most Outstanding Defensive Player in the Tournament. 

Ithaca College claims the second straight Goalkeeper of the Year award in sophomore Beth Coppolecchia. Coppolecchia ended the season with a .42 GAA, an impressive .909 save percentage, and faced an average of 4.6 shots on goal per game. She was a 2013 Empire 8 All-Conference selection, and finished the season with 19 wins and 10 shutouts.

The 2013 women's Coach of the Year is Aliceann Wilber of William Smith College. After winning her second national champoinship, Coach Wilber's career record is 480-125-54, giving her more career wins than any coach in Division III women's soccer. This trails only North Carolina's Anson Dorrance and Connecticut's Len Tsantiris in career wins in all of NCAA women's soccer. Wilber's teams have reached the NCAA Tournament 24 times, with 10 visits to the semifinals, leading to two national championships in 1988 and in 2013. And under her direction, the Herons have not suffered a losing season since 1984. In this championship season, Wilber and her staff led William Smith to a 32-1-0 record, a program record for wins in a season at 23 and shutouts at 21.

Forward of the Year: Hannah Kronick (Jr.), Johns Hopkins
Midfielder of the Year: Emily Jorgens (Jr.), Trinity (Texas)
Defender of the Year: Olivia Zitoli (Sr.), William Smith
Goalkeeper of the Year: Beth Coppolecchia (So.), Ithaca
Pos. Player Year School
F Hannah Kronick * Jr. Johns Hopkins
F Dessi Dupuy * Jr. Lynchburg
F Nikki Elsaesser So. Messiah
M Emily Jorgens ** Jr. Trinity (Texas)
M Leah DeMoss * Sr. Wheaton (Ill.)
M Julia Favorito Sr. Middlebury
D Olivia Zitoli Sr. William Smith
D Lauren Gorodetsky ** Sr. Emory
D Kate Doyle Sr. Washington U.
D Jordan Downs Jr. TCNJ
GK Beth Coppolecchia So. Ithaca
Pos. Player Year School
F Scarlett Kirk Jr. Middlebury
F Megan Mahoney Jr. Misericordia
F Katie Vanden Avond Jr. St. Norbert
M Alicia Frey * Sr. Messiah
M Kerry Glynn Jr. Montclair State
M Kelsey Falcone Jr. Trinity (Texas)
M Lillie Toaspern Jr. Washington U.
D Courtney Cramer ** Sr. Hardin-Simmons
D Jessica Bonjione Jr. Montclair State
D Rachel Sadowski * Sr. Lynchburg
GK Hannah Van Wetter Jr. Williams
Pos. Player Year School
F Nicci Bermudes So. Aurora
F Olivia Huber So. Thomas More
F Emily Fellows Sr. Linfield
F Georgia Cloepfil Sr. Macalester
M Taylor Thigpen Sr. Hardin-Simmons
M MaryClaire Pelletier Jr. William Smith
D Alexa Sharkey Jr. Wheaton (Ill.)
D Ali Rogers Sr. Messiah
D Kinsey Campbell * Sr. Loras
D Anna Gray Sr. Ithaca
GK Chelsea Dunay Sr. William Smith
* previous All-America honors
Aliceann Wilber, William Smith (23-1-0) - 2013 National Champions
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.