January 5, 2015

2014 D3soccer.com Women's All-America teams

(l. to r.) Forward of the Year Angela Bosco, Midfielder of the Year Lillie Toaspern, Defender of the Year Lilly Wellenbach, and Goalkeeper of the Year Kelsey Graham.

The 2014 season has come to a close and now that the new men's and women's champions have been crowned, the fifth annual D3soccer.com All-America teams are ready for release. The teams were chosen by D3soccer.com staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of over 300 nominations.

Thirty-three players representing twenty-one schools have been named to the three All-America teams. Twelve of this year's honorees are repeat selections, matching the high set in 2012. Of that dozen, three are on the first team for the second straight year, something only two players had previously accomplished in the short history of the awards. One of those three players, Emily Jorgens of Trinity University (Texas), is D3soccer.com's first four-time All-American, men's or women's. The 2013 Midfielder of the Year was one of two selections to have garnered top honors at their position last year.

Lynchburg senior Angela Bosco is the D3soccer.com Forward of the Year in just her first appearance as a D3soccer.com All-American. Bosco, the ODAC Player of the Year and three-time first-team All-ODAC honoree, ended the season with 30 goals and 16 assists, tying her for seventh and fifth in the country, respectively. Similarly, her 76 points ranked tied for fifth nationally. Her season goal and point totals are Lynchburg records, while her 85 career goals is second most in team and ODAC history.  Five of her record-setting goals were game-winners, and she assisted on seven other game-winning tallies. Depsite injury sidelining Bosco for the national quarterfinal, she contributed to Lynchburg's national championship run with three goals and three assists in five NCAA tournament games.

Washington University senior Lillie Toaspern is the D3soccer.com Midfielder of the Year award winner, following up her Second Team selection in 2013. The University Athletic Association Most Valuable Player led the Bears with 9 goals and a personal career best 11 assists, both team highs which also ranked third and second in the conference, respectively. Her quality as both provider and finisher resulted in a UAA-best 29 points as she got her name on the score sheet in 14 of 19 games. Moreover, Toaspern's contributions were critical and timely as she was credited with two game-winning goals and assisted on a further six game-winning tallies while also providing invaluable leadership on and off the field. Consistently dependable and productive over four seasons, the four-time All-UAA award winner lifted her career total to 113 points which ranks third in program history.

In her first appearance as a D3soccer.com All-American, senior Lilly Wellenbach of Williams College has earned the D3soccer.com Defender of the Year award. With Wellenbach anchoring the backfield, Williams limited opponents to just a 3.2 shots-on-goal average.  The Williams defense logged 17 shutouts, fifth most nationally, and allowed just 10 goals in 24 matches which translated to a 0.40 goals-against-average, tenth best nationally. After conceding the first goal and trailing on just three occasions during the regular season, the national runner-up never trailed in six NCAA tournament games, posting four shutouts before coming up short in penalty kicks in a scoreless title game. Wellenbach was a NESCAC All-Conference honoree and  recognized as a member of the NCAA All-Tournament Team.

Wheaton College (Ill.) ends Ithaca College's two consecutive GOY awards with the performance of senior Kelsey Graham, the D3soccer.com Goalkeeper of the Year. Graham is also appearing as a D3soccer.com award winner for the first time. Facing an average of 5.0 shots on goal per game, Graham posted a .944 save percentage, the nation's best mark by a significant margin. Wheaton achieved an impressive 0.28 goals-against-average with the senior in goal, fifth best in the nation, contributing to a 13-1-2 record in games she started. Graham earned 12 total shutouts, six solo shutouts, and was a 2014 CCIW All-Conference selection.

The 2014 D3soccer.com women's Coach of the Year is Dr. Todd Olson of Lynchburg College. Coach Olson's Hornets won the program's first ever national championship, and he led the team to its most decorated season in program history. Olson has a 294-79-38 career record, and has led his teams to the NCAA Division III Sweet 16 four times, the quarterfinals three times, and the semifinals once. Developing strong student-athletes along the way, Dr. Olson and the Lynchburg soccer program's accomplishments include nine All-Americans and three Academic All-Americans. Dr. Olson was also recently inducted into the Capital One CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors Association) Academic All-America Hall of Fame. He is an Associate Professor of Health and Human Performance at Lynchburg College.

Forward of the Year: Angela Bosco (Sr.), Lynchburg
Midfielder of the Year: Lillie Toaspern (Sr.), Washington U.
Defender of the Year: Lilly Wellenbach (Sr.), Williams
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kelsey Graham (Sr.), Wheaton (Ill.)
Pos. Player Year School
F Angela Bosco Sr. Lynchburg
F Nikki Elsaesser * Jr. Messiah
F Emily Jorgens *** Sr. Trinity (Texas)
M Lillie Toaspern * Sr. Washington U.
M Kelsey Falcone * Sr. Trinity (Texas)
M Astrid Kempainen Sr. Connecticut Col.
D Lilly Wellenbach Sr. Williams
D Alexa Sharkey * Sr. Wheaton (Ill.)
D Jordan Downs * Sr. TCNJ
D Abby Osborne Jr. Thomas More
GK Kelsey Graham Sr. Wheaton (Ill.)
Pos. Player Year School
F Hannah Kronick ** Sr. Johns Hopkins
F Nicci Bermudes * Jr. Aurora
F Dessi Dupuy ** Sr. Lynchburg
M Jade Woll Jr. Lynchburg
M Julianne Kucera Sr. Hardin-Simmons
M Ana Bengoechea So. Johns Hopkins
M Macaulay Soto Jr. Messiah
D Mary Kate Schmidt Jr. Illinois Wesleyan
D Jessica Bonjione * Sr. Montclair State
D Katie Haltiwanger Sr. Hardin-Simmons
GK Bridget McCarthy Jr. Bowdoin
Pos. Player Year School
F Olivia Huber * Jr. Thomas More
F Michelle Greeneway Jr. Lake Forest
F Megan Mahoney * Sr. Misericordia
M Melissa Koster Sr. Montclair State
M Amalia Acorda-Fey Jr. Puget Sound
M Mai Mitsuyama Jr. Williams
M Sara Kwan Sr. Chicago
D Kirby Peddicord Sr. Trinity (Texas)
D Keely Jelinek Fr. Carnegie Mellon
D Zoe Jackson-Gibson Jr. William Smith
GK Kendra Griffith Sr. TCNJ
* previous D3soccer.com All-America honors
Dr. Todd Olson, Lynchburg (27-0-1) - 2014 National Champions
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.